The Council on Legislative & Regulatory Policy is responsible for identifying emerging legislative issues for consideration by MHA’s Executive Committee, and for providing high-level advocacy and strategic input on MHA’s annual legislative priorities, as well as other statewide issues expected to be addressed during the General Assembly session. The council provides guidance on advocacy opportunities and is responsible for recommending the approval of MHA’s legislative agenda to the Executive Committee. Council members work to expand the hospital field’s influence by strengthening relationships with elected state and federal leaders. 

Membership Roster

Leslie Simmons - Chair
Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer
LifeBridge Health, Baltimore
Timothy Adelman 
General Counsel & Chief Legal Officer
Luminis Health, Annapolis

Mark Boucot
President & CEO
Garrett Regional Medical Center, Oakland

Louis Damiano, M.D.
Holy Cross Hospital, Silver Spring

Jill Donaldson
MedStar Harbor Hospital, Baltimore

Christopher Hall
Vice President Strategy/Chief Business Officer
TidalHealth, Salisbury

Kristin Jones Bryce
Senior Vice President & Chief External Affairs Officer
University of Maryland Medical System, Baltimore

Maulik Joshi, Dr.P.H.
President & CEO
Meritus Health, Hagerstown

Edward Lovern
President & CEO
Ascension Saint Agnes, Baltimore

Marilyn Lynk, Ph.D.
Executive Director, Equity, Diversity & Inclusion
Adventist HealthCare, Gaithersburg

Nicki McCann
Vice President, Payer/Provider Transformation
The Johns Hopkins Health System, Baltimore

Martha Nathanson
Vice President, Government Relations & Community Development
LifeBridge Health, Baltimore

Andrew Nicklas
Deputy General Counsel
Adventist HealthCare, Rockville

Ryan O’Doherty
Senior Vice President, External Affairs
Mercy Medical Center, Baltimore

Bradley Schlaggar, M.D., Ph.D.
President & CEO
Kennedy Krieger Institute, Baltimore 

James Sherwood
Vice President, Business Development & Strategy
Frederick Health, Frederick

Larry Smith
Vice President, Risk Management
MedStar Health, Columbia

Pegeen A. Townsend
Vice President, Government Affairs
MedStar Health, Columbia

Jennifer Wilkerson
Vice President & Chief Strategy Officer
Sheppard Pratt Health System, Towson

Meeting Dates

Meeting Materials